April 19, 2024


The art of Fashion

National Indigenous Fashion Awards nominees named

2 min read

Nominees for this year’s Countrywide Indigenous Vogue Awards (NIFA) have been announced.

Launched in 2020, the award recognises 1st Nations designers from city, regional and some of the farthest-achieving remote locations of Australia. The party offers a platform for innovation, variety and moral tactics for Initially Nations designers in style and textile.

The event is supported by The Darwin Aboriginal Art Fair Foundation’s (DAAFF) Indigenous Fashion Jobs (IFP) together with the Northern Territory Government (NTG).

DAAFF artistic director and Jap Arrernte visual artist, Shilo McNamee, said NIFA supplies a “unique opportunity” for the residence-developed and intercontinental trend local community to hook up to the world’s oldest living cultures.

“The NIFA recognises excellence across multiple award groups and presents options for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander creatives to obtain interest and acquire mentoring aid, so they can not only construct capability but prosper in the market,” claimed McNamee.

The award winner will also acquire a 12-thirty day period mentorship with Place Road supplying them access to in-depth insights into the brand’s company functions.

The last evening of the photoshoot celebration, Linda Puna from Mimili Maku Arts collaboration with Unreal Fur. Image: Meg Hansen.

Fabia Pryor, brand local community and influence supervisor at Region Highway, claimed the program is “tailored” by the winner and will consist of areas in product enhancement, top quality command, authorized, internet marketing and sustainability.

Winners will be announced through a ceremony on August 3 in Larrakia Place. A ‘Country to Couture’ runway will also choose location on August 2 adopted by the Darwin Aboriginal Artwork Honest from August 5-7.

The pursuing are the award categories and their nominees:

  • Classic Adornment Award
  • Cassie Leatham, Yanggurdi – Wild Blak Arts
  • Esther Yarllarlla
  • Group Collaboration Award
  • Mimili Maku Arts, Linda Puna x Unreal Fur
  • Djunngaal, Yarrabah Arts and Cultural Centre x Francoise Lane
  • Business enterprise Accomplishment Award
  • Simone Arnol and Bernard Singleton (collaboration) – Prohibit
  • Laura Thompson – Clothes The Gaps
  • Denni Francisco – Ngali x Warmum Artwork
  • Nagula Jarndu
  • Bábbarra Layouts
  • Textile Structure Award
  • Philomena Yeatman – Yarrabah Arts & Cultural Precinct
  • Briana Enoch – Jirawee
  • Lillardia Briggs-Housten – Ngarru Miimi
  • Eunice Napanangka Jack – Ikuntji Artists
  • Mavis Marks – Ikuntji Artists
  • Roseranna Larry – Ikuntji Artists
  • Wearable Artwork Award
  • Irene Robinson
  • Lillardia Briggs-Housten – Ngarru Miimi
  • Paul McCann
  • Mylene Holroyd
  • Fashion Designer Award
  • Cheryl Creed – Murrii Quu Couture
  • Briana Enoch – Jirawee
  • Denni Francisco – Ngali x Warmun Artwork Centre